What We Do: Is it a Sin?

Many times when I think of  something that of which I spend alot of time on I wonder “Is it a sin”? I am sure it is a question that many of us ponder, and sometimes use as an excuse. I listened to a message by John Piper that had a very interesting quote. This is what I heard from him, yet in my own words: “Many of us think of if it is wrong to do something, such as a game or sport. Don’t always ask if it is a sin, ask if it is a weight to our walk with Christ, although if its a sin, stop immediatly”. When I listened to this, I thought about my life, such as what I like to do and how much time I spend on these things I do.

I thought, “maybe what I am doing is not a sin, yet it is a weight that I carry that slows down my run with Christ”. So I tried to slow down in some things, yet do more with others such as reading scripture, Morning and Evening by Charles Spurgeon, and simple things like these. Just try to always increase your walk and not decrease it by adding in to many things, not that these things are bad, but if they will hurt your walk with God.

Explore posts in the same categories: Using our time wisely, What I Have Learned

Leave a Reply

